A special collection of David Sylvian’s solo releases on his label samadhisound has been announced, featuring a limited edition deluxe 10 CD boxset.

In early 2003, having already parted ways with the Virgin label after a record 21 years, there followed a sense of both autonomy and having worked on retrospectives and remixes for the past few years, a change in direction was needed. As a result, that year Sylvian created the samadhisound label for which he claims he created his most liberated, personal and substantial work of his creative life. This newly collected 10-CD set contains the entirety of the work Sylvian produced, both solo and in collaboration, over the 11 years of the label’s existence.

samadhisound 2003–2014 DO YOU KNOW ME NOW? is a limited edition deluxe 10”x10’ 10 CD boxset. The box is presented in a stunning slipcase and features a 100-page hardback book with previously unseen artwork and contextual essays by David Sylvian and renowned graphic designer and author Adrian Shaughnessy on the visual aesthetic of the samadhisound label.

The boxset has been beautifully art directed and designed by Sylvian and his partner on all the label’s projects, Chris Bigg. The slipcase features a stunning photograph by Manafon cover artist Ruud Van Empel. There is also a collaboration with artist/musician Lance Austin Olsen for the three of the CD sleeves. The production values of this release are on par with all those that Sylvian & Bigg created for the samadhisound label itself.

samadhisound 2003–2014 DO YOU KNOW ME NOW? contains all of David Sylvian’s solo albums released on his independent label, samadhisound, between 2003 and 2014, plus the albums recorded with Nine Horses, Jan Bang & Erik Honoré and Franz Wright & Christian Fennesz. The set also contains an exclusive compilation CD, Do You Know Me Now? featuring non-album tracks recorded with Ryuichi Sakamoto and Nine Horses.

Speaking of his time releasing music via samadhisound, Sylvian says “Although I personally maintain samadhisound is the home of my best work it was produced during a very turbulent period that precipitated some devastating changes in my life. I can’t gloss over this fact as it’s incorporated into, and informs the material in many ways. Maybe that’s why, after all this time, outside of any possible musical innovation, it remains so important to me.”

David Sylvian samadhisound 2003–2014 DO YOU KNOW ME NOW? is released 4 August 2023 via samadhisound/UMR

Available for pre-order now:

CD ONE: Blemish – David Sylvian

01: Blemish (13:42)
02: The Good Son (5:25)
03: The Only Daughter (5:28)
04: The Heart Knows Better (7:51)
05: She Is Not (0:45)
06: Late Night Shopping (2:54)
07: How Little We Need To Be Happy (3:22)
08: A Fire In The Forest (4:14)

CD TWO: The Good Son Vs. The Only Daughter – The Blemish Remixes – David Sylvian

01: The Only Daughter: Remixed by Ryoji Ikeda (5:49)
02: Blemish: Remixed by Burnt Friedman (4:50)
03: The Heart Knows Better: Remixed by Sweet Billy Pilgrim (5:29)
04: A Fire In The Forest: Remixed by Readymade FC (5:05)
05: The Good Son: Remixed by Yoshihiro Hanno (4:33)
06: Late Night Shopping: Remixed by Burnt Friedman (2:51)
07: How Little We Need To Be Happy: Remixed by Tatsuhiko Asano (4:35)
08: The Only Daughter: Remixed by Jan Bang and Erik Honoré (5:28)
09: Blemish: Remixed by Akira Rabelais (10:10)

CD THREE: Snow Borne Sorrow – Nine Horses

01: Wonderful World (6:02)
02: Darkest Birds (5:03)
03: The Banality of Evil (7:59)
04: Atom and Cell (7:06)
05: A History of Holes (8:02)
06: Snow Borne Sorrow (6:23)
07: The Day The Earth Stole Heaven (3:19)
08: Serotonin (5:54)
09: The Librarian (9:01)

CD FOUR: Do You Know Me Now? – David Sylvian / Ryuichi Sakamoto / Nine Horses

01: World Citizen -Short Version (6:46)
02: World Citizen – I Won’t Be Disappointed (6:06)
03: World Citizen – Ryoji Ikeda remix (4:59)
04: Money For All (4:08)
05: Get The Hell Out (5:36)
06: The Banality of Evil – Burnt Friedman remix (6:48)
07: Wonderful World– Burnt Friedman remix (7:04)
08: Birds Sing For Their Lives (7:02)
09: Serotonin – Burnt Friedman remix (4:51)
10: Money For All – Version (4:00)
11: Get The Hell Out – Burnt Friedman remix (5:02)
12: When Monday Comes Around (5:58)
13: Do You Know Me Now? (4:20)
14: Where’s Your Gravity? (5:37)

CD FIVE: When Loud Weather Buffeted Naoshima – David Sylvian

01: When Loud Weather Buffeted Naoshima (70:00)

CD SIX: Manafon – David Sylvian

01: Small Metal Gods (5:48)
02: The Rabbit Skinner (4:41)
03: Random Acts of Senseless Violence (7:06)
04: The Greatest Living Englishman (10:54)
05: 125 Spheres (0:29)
06: Snow White in Appalachia (6:35)
07: Emily Dickinson (6:25)
08: The Department of Dead Letters (2:25)
09: Manafon (5:22)

CD SEVEN: Died In The Wool – Manafon Variations – David Sylvian

01: Small Metal Gods – Died In The Wool – Version (5:09)
02: Died In The Wool (6:03)
03: I Should Not Dare ( for N.O) (3:24)
04: Random Acts of Senseless Violence – Died In The Wool version(6:24)
05: A Certain Slant of Light ( for M.K.) (3:28)
06: Anomaly at Taw Head (5:06)
07: Snow White in Appalachia – Died In The Wool version (5:59)
08: Emily Dickinson – Died In The Wool Version (3:35)
09: The Greatest Living Englishman – Coda (3:06)
10: Anomaly at Taw Head ( A Haunting) (3:12)
11: Manafon – Died In The Wool version (4:05)
12: The Last Days of December (6:16)

CD EIGHT: When We Return You Won’t Recognise Us – David Sylvian

01: When We Return You Won’t Recognise Us (18:15)

CD NINE: Uncommon Deities – Jan Bang & Erik Honoré with David Sylvian / Sidsel Endresen / Arve Henriksen

01: The God of Single Cell Organisms (3:37)
02: The God of Sleeplessness (4:29)
03: The God of Silence (4:19)
04: The God of Smaller Gods (4:04)
05: The God of Small Caresses (5:51)
06: The God of Black Holes (3:57)
07: The God of Adverbs (4:20)
08: The Ruminative Gap (3:18)
09: The God of Crossroads (3:19)
10: The God of Tiny Island (5:06)
11: The God of Gradual Abduction (5:27)
12: I Swallowed Earth for This (3:18)

CD TEN: There’s A Light That Enters Houses With No Other House In Sight – David Sylvian / Franz Wright / Christian Fennesz

01: There’s A Light That Enters Houses With No Other House In Sight (64:24)